Reputation

The Meaning of the Picture Header

Someone asked me why I used this picture in my Blog. This is my reasoning.

This picture symbolises the danger of reputation risk. It carries a powerful message that if your Reputation gets damaged, you are going to go one way!

On the other hand, if you should develop a powerful positive reputation, you will be going to Wall Street (Stock Exchange). Wall Street symbolises value, growth and future expectations.

If you look in the background, you will see a man in a black cloak. That’s me. The Reputation Advocate. Ready to help you in the right direction. 

I could be “Van Helsing” – Bram Stoker’s the monster hunter from the movie, summoned to dark land far away on a quest to banish evil, but more likely than that I could be V as in the movie V for Vendetta.

Set against the futuristic landscape of totalitarian Britain, V For Vendetta tells the story of a young working-class woman named Evey who is rescued from a life-and-death situation by a masked man known only as “V.” Profoundly complex, V is at once literary, flamboyant, tender and intellectual, a man dedicated to freeing his fellow citizens from those who have terrorized them into compliance.

Some see V as one man’s terrorist who is just another freedom fighter. Others see him as a liberator.

Point of the matter is that I am a Corporate Jester. Someone who through my presentations get audiences to think about their actions and behaviours. To think about prevailing practices and the corporate culture. To think about those things that the organisation is doing to harm its reputation.

In the Middle ages the Court Jester used to challenge the King to his thoughts and decisions. Sometimes he had his head chopped off, other times the King listened.

Through my presentations I try and challenge the status quo and make people aware of the impact of their reputation on the overall organisation’s reputation. If that makes me a Jester, then I must be on the right track.

Leave a Reply

